Meal Idea Monday: Crock Pot Broccoli and Three Cheese Soup

24 Oct

Hello everyone! I have a delicious vegetarian, gluten free meal idea for you… it’s Crock Pot Broccoli and Three Cheese Soup from the Crock Pot 365 blog. It’s an incredible resource for us for meal ideas to bring to friends and family. All her recipes are gluten free, and I’ve tried many of them and loved them! Enjoy!!

CROCK POT BROCCOLI AND THREE CHEESE SOUP

-1 qt chicken broth (or vegetable)

-2 cups milk (I used 2% cow’s)

-2 10 oz bags of frozen broccoli florets
 
-1/2 diced white onion
 
-1/2 t black pepper
 
-1/2 t kosher salt
 
-1/2 t ground nutmeg
 
-1 cup each of three different cheeses, I used jarlsberg, gruyere, and cheddar. (or you could do 2 cups of a three cheese blend, and one cup of cheddar)
The Directions:
Mince the onion into really small pieces. I used my pampered chef chopper thingy. The onions are going to soften in the milk and the broth, and need to be quite small so you don’t crunch on onion pieces when the soup is complete.
Add the onion to your crockpot, and top with the milk, broth, and spices. Stir in the two frozen bags of broccoli. 
Cook on low for 7-9 hours, or on high for 4-6. The broth is done when the onion is cooked nicely.
 
20 minutes or so before serving, shred all the cheese you are going to use, and stir it in. The cheese will be stringy and will stick to the broccoli florets—that’s okay!
 
Serve with your favorite rolls or drop biscuits.

One Response to “Meal Idea Monday: Crock Pot Broccoli and Three Cheese Soup”

  1. Lisa @ Food Tidings October 30, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Hi guys! I made this for my family tonight, and I thought it tasted SO yummy! The only thing was that I used 2 cups of shredded three cheese blend, and then one cup of shredded mild chedddar cheese. It ended up getting clumpy, so that was a bummer. Next time, because there will most certainly be a next time on this delicious soup, I will be using 32 oz of velveeta cheese. I’m looking forward to it already!

Leave a comment