Best Day Ever

3 May

Each week, I visit my grandparents who live not too far from me. And because we homeschool, my kids get to spend time with them as well.

This is a cherished and treasured time that I find absolutely invaluable on so many levels. My kids get to know their great grandparents, and have meaningful conversations with them, laugh with them, and create beautiful memories that I believe will last a lifetime for them. They love to swim, watch movies, have snacks, and play while we are there. Oh, and eat jelly beans. There are ALWAYS jelly beans there. 🙂

I absolutely adore my grandparents, and always have. I get to see, hug, laugh with, walk with them down memory lane (they just celebrated 57 years of marriage, have 6 kids, 17 grandkids, and great grandchild #17 is on the way!), we talk about food and recipes that we’d like to try (we love watching the Food Network together), and have very meaningful talks with my them. They have so much wisdom and insight, so much love, a great faith in Jesus, and I just feel like a sponge while I’m there- soaking it all in. When I’m at my grandparents’ house, all is right in the world. It’s hard to explain, but I just feel such peace when I’m there.

My grandma told me this week that she’s been waking up every day telling herself that today is her best day ever. She was inspired by a song that she heard on the radio about this being the best day, and so that’s what she’s been telling herself all day long. She said it has been exciting to see what God has in store for her when she thinks of each day as her best day. She also told me that she is validated in believing today is her best day because God tells us in the Bible that “this is the day that the Lord has made. Let us REJOICE and be GLAD in it!” (Psalm 118:24)

So moral of the story? Today is your best day EVER! Rejoice in this day and be glad, because this is the day the Lord has made! And the other moral of the story- spend time with those you love…only God knows the number of our days, so we can enjoy each one with gladness.

Thank you, Grandma. You are the most beautiful woman I know, and I love you!!

-Lisa

Leave a Reply

