Meal Idea Monday: Coconut Curry Lentil & Apple Soup

15 Apr
Coconut Curry Apple & Lentil Soup. Image from www.familyfeedbag.com

Coconut Curry Apple & Lentil Soup. Image from http://www.familyfeedbag.com

It’s Monday again!! How was your week last week? Ours was a little rough. Our sweet third born boy, Jett, had to have his tonsils and adenoids out last Wednesday.

What a crazy recovery it’s been for him, and for us too! It breaks my heart to know my son is in pain, and that I can’t take it away from him. I so wish I could take it away, and for me to be the one who has to go through this recovery for him. But I know that is part of life, we all have to go through trials, and it makes us stronger in the end. But boy, in the middle of it, it feels like it’s never going to end.

I know there are so many parents out there that are dealing with having a son or daughter who is sick, and wishing with all their hearts that they could take their child’s place with this sickness. My heart truly goes out to you, and I am so proud of how you’re handling it all.

I’ve been watching as our dear friends journey through leukemia. Their son (the youngest of four boys) is just four years old, and it’s such a struggle to watch him go through the pain, side effects, and hard things about the treatment of this disease. But they have been one of the biggest sources of inspiration and encouragement to me as well because their faith is SO strong, they see the good in it all, they are growing closer as a family from this, and they are watching as God works in their lives and the lives of those around them. It’s amazing to see!

I truly believe that we don’t know how strong we go through something very challenging. God gives us exactly what we need when we need it. So keep it up out there, all you amazing parents who are battling on behalf of your precious children. You are not alone and you are SO loved!

Today’s recipe that I found comes from one of my favorite recipe sites, based in Canada, called Family Feedbag. It’s for Coconut Curry Lentil and Apple Soup. Sounds amazing, doesn’t it!!

So bring this delicious soup to a friend or family member going through a tough time. And if you haven’t done so yet, set up a Food Tidings meal schedule for them, and invite their friends and family to bring them meals as well. It would be a huge blessing to them, I just know it!

Have a great week,

Lisa 🙂

 

PS- The last time I brought soup to a friend, I brought it in one of my pots. Then once I got there, I asked if they had a big pot I could transfer the soup into. That worked great because then they didn’t have to return my pot, or if they’re anything like me- they would’ve forgotten and ended up having it for a REALLY long time! 😉

Leave a Reply

