Meal Idea Monday: Slow Cooker Chicken Chili and Honey Cornbread Muffins

26 Sep

Hello all! I hope you had a great weekend. My husband Zach and I went to a wedding for his cousin Matt and his beautiful bride Heather. Zach was the best man, and he did great! The wedding was in beautiful Colorado, and we left our kiddos home with my parents and my aunt and uncle (now that we have 4, we split them up for longer weekends.) We had a great time, and now we’re home and getting back into the groove for this week.

Here’s a picture of Zach and I at the wedding this weekend….

So I’ve been inspired by all the fall decor I’m seeing in the stores and on Pinterest (anyone else loving this site like I am?!), and I’m thinking it’s time for a cozy, warm meal. This easy recipe for chicken chili comes from my friend Robin. She brought it to me when I had our 3rd little one, and we raved about it for weeks after. She was so sweet too- she brought corn bread with it, as well as a 2 liter of pink lemonade. It was AWESOME!

And what goes well with chili? Cornbread of course! I found this recipe for honey cornbread muffins from the wonderful site Plain Chicken. I have been loving this recipe site, and I know you will too! You just can’t beat a bowl of chili with cornbread to welcome the cooler weather, the beautiful fall colors, and the coziness that comes with this season.

And even if it’s not quite cooler outside here in Arizona, I may just make it freezing in my house and have chili  and cornbread muffins for dinner in my sweatshirt! But I’ll be sure to make a double batch so I’m ready to bring some over to a friend when I get my next foodtidings invite. Havea great day, friends!

SLOW COOKER CHICKEN CHILI
 
Ingredients:
2 cans black beans
2 cans ranch style beans (for spicier, use ranch beans with jalepenos)
2 cans stewed tomatoes (for more flavor, use stewed tomatoes with onions and peppers)
1  can corn
1 packet of chili seasoning (mild, regular or hot depending on your preference)
3 chicken breasts already cooked and shredded (I usually just boil the chicken and shred it before putting it in)
 
Directions:
Place all ingredients in the slow cooker, and let it go on low for about 8 hours or on high for 4 hours. ENJOY!
 
 
HONEY CORNBREAD MUFFINS
 
Source: Plain Chicken (awesome recipe site you HAVE to check out!!!)- also, click on this link to see a picture of these beautiful muffins. Makes me want to eat 5 of them just seeing it! 🙂
 
Ingredients:
2 cups plain flour
1 cup cornmeal
1/4 cup white sugar
1 tbsp + 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 cup butter or cooking margarine, softened
3 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
3 heaping tbsp honey
2/3 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cup milkDirections:

Preheat your oven to 350 F and spray muffin tin with cooking spray. Mix all dry ingredients together in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, soften butter and add eggs, vanilla, and honey. Stir until well-combined, then add your oil and milk. Mix just until all the lumps are gone.Divide your batter into the muffin tin, and bake for 15-20 minutes, until golden on top and a knife inserted comes out clean. While muffins are baking, mix your butter and icing sugar together until thick and icing-like. Once muffins are done, place onto wire rack and allow to cool slightly. While muffins are still warm, brush them with some melted honey butter.

*Makes 12 regular or 24 mini muffins.*

7 Responses to “Meal Idea Monday: Slow Cooker Chicken Chili and Honey Cornbread Muffins”

  1. Stephanie@PlainChicken.com September 26, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    So glad you liked the corn muffins! I am going to give your chicken chili recipe a try. It sounds wonderful!!

  2. Christy Bryant Dean October 10, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Can you tell me if a reminder email is sent to someone who is scheduled to bring a meal through Food Tidings?
    Thanks – Christy

    • Lisa @ Food Tidings October 10, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      Hi Christy,
      Great question. Yes, food tidings will send an email reminder to everyone who signs up to bring a meal. The reminder comes 2 days before they’re scheduled and also lets them know what they signed up to bring.

      Let us know if you have any more questions!

      Thanks,
      Lisa

  3. Christy Bryant Dean October 10, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Thank you Lisa!

  4. Amy G. October 13, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Hi Lisa, I’m making the cornbread muffins right now and just realized that I don’t understand the recipe…where’s the recipe for the icing sugar? The way I read the recipe everything goes into the muffins…maybe I’m missing something!
    I looked on Plain Chicken and someone else asked this same question, but there wasn’t a reply. How did you make yours? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

