Meal Idea Monday: Southwestern Beef Wraps

11 Jul
My wonderful husband Zach and I celebrated 9 years of marriage this past week, and on Saturday we went out on a date night. I love date nights with Zach. Mostly because I just love Zach, and so being with him is one of my favorite things to do.

Having 4 kids is amazing. I feel so blessed and thankful that God has given us these 4 beautiful gifts. But I’m finding that it’s SO important for Zach and I to connect just as husband and wife- to talk, to hang out together doing really anything as long as it’s just the two of us, to laugh together, and to remember what it’s like to be “us”.

We can be “us” with the kids too, but it’s different when the kids aren’t around. We can have a conversation without interruptions (can I get an amen?), and we can go to restaraunts that we’d not dare try when it’s us as a family, which is always fun. Here’s the best part about this last date night… we can go on the waterslides that they aren’t tall enough for!

Saturday night we went to a waterpark here in Arizona called Wet N Wild. We have season passes to keep cool in this insane heat (seriously, every summer I can’t believe we live here where it’s SO incredibly hot), and we’ve gone several times so far. But this was the first time we went just the two of us. It was SO much fun! We both love roller coasters, sky diving, cliff diving, and things that just get your adrenaline pumping… so this was right up our alley. It’s like being on a roller coaster, but with lots of water. Our favorite was probably called the Phoenix Flyer, and it was totally dark the whole time we twisted and turned down the slide. I felt like a kid again, and it was awesome!

Image from the always wonderful ourbestbites.com

Anyways, here’s the Meal Idea Monday. It’s a good one- Southwestern Beef Wraps from Our Best Bites. I made these this past week for my family, and they turned out AWESOME. I’m bringing dinner to a friend this week (get this- 3 of her 4 kids are all having their tonsils and adenoids taken out… that will be a crazy recovery for them and mom and dad!), and I may bring this dish too becuse it’s that good!

I ended up using a pork roast rather than beef because it was less expensive, and it turned out just great. I’d love to try the beef soon too. The other thing we did different was we used corn tortillas, and made up soft taco shells in hot oil. I’d planned on making the flour tortillas, but didn’t realize that it takes a bit. But again, I plan to make these next time as well. They look delicious!

Southwestern Beef Wraps

1 onion, chopped
2 1/2-ish lb. beef roast, trimmed of fat but left whole
1 heaping tsp. chili powder
1 heaping tsp. garlic powder
1 heaping tsp. cumin
1 heaping tsp. Kosher salt
2 bell peppers (you can use 2 green bell peppers or mix it up a little with red, yellow, or orange; just make sure one is green), chopped
1 14 1/2 oz. can Mexican-style diced tomatoes OR 1 can of Rotel tomatoes (regular or mild, depending on your preference)
Small flour tortillas (click here to make your own!)
Desired toppings: salsa or pico de gallo, guacamole, sour cream, shredded cheese, chopped cilantro, etc.

Click here for directions… Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

