Meal Idea Monday: Cheese & Spinach Stuffed Portobellos

20 Jun

Hey y’all! How is your Monday going so far? Mine is great- my family and I are up North for the week, hanging out at a Christian youth camp with about 300 jr. highers. We got here last night, and we’re staying until Friday. My kids are super excited to try out the 35 foot climbing wall, hike like crazy, climb all over the big rocks, look for bugs, find giant sticks to poke each other with (don’t worry, I’m keeping my eye on them- especially my 3 year old…), and swim. It’s going to be a great week- and woo hoo because I don’t have to do any cooking or dishes since we’ll be eating what the camp provides for us and the campers. 🙂 And I have to be honest, the food is actually really good! I always imagine camp food to be yucky, but this food is good. Almost too good- I have to exercise some self restraint so I don’t come home with 5 extra pounds on my hips… I’ll have to include a few pictures of the fun we had this week in next weeks post.

Anways, I decided to do another vegetarian recipe today. Get ready because it’s a yummy one… Cheese & Spinach Stuffed Portobellos from Eating Well. There are many other wonderful vegetarian recipes on that site, so check it out for sure. I’m not a vegetarian, but this recipe would be something I would really enjoy. Have a wonderful afternoon!!

CHEESE AND SPINACH STUFFED PORTOBELLOS

From: Eating Well

Serves: 4

Ingredients

  • 4 large portobello mushroom caps
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper, divided
  • 1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup finely chopped fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup finely shredded Parmesan cheese, divided
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped kalamata olives
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 3/4 cup prepared marinara sauce

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 450°F. Coat a rimmed baking sheet with cooking spray.

2. Place mushroom caps, gill-side up, on the prepared pan. Sprinkle with salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Roast until tender, 20 to 25 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, mash ricotta, spinach, 1/4 cup Parmesan, olives, Italian seasoning and the remaining 1/8 teaspoon pepper in a medium bowl. Place marinara sauce in a small bowl, cover and microwave on High until hot, 30 seconds to 1 1/2 minutes.

4. When the mushrooms are tender, carefully pour out any liquid accumulated in the caps. Return the caps to the pan gill-side up. Spread 1 tablespoon marinara into each cap; cover the remaining sauce to keep warm. Mound a generous 1/3 cup ricotta filling into each cap and sprinkle with the remaining 1/4 cup Parmesan. Bake until hot, about 10 minutes. Serve with the remaining marinara sauce.

 

5 Responses to “Meal Idea Monday: Cheese & Spinach Stuffed Portobellos”

  1. Farm mom Corinne June 21, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Ok weird question but since you say “this recipe would be something I would really enjoy”, imPlying you haven’t done this one, how many of the recipes do you actually try/make yourself? Inquiring minds want to know …

    • Lisa @ Food Tidings June 23, 2011 at 12:21 am #

      Hi Corinne,
      Good question. It was funny to look back and see which ones I’ve made and tried myself. Looks like the last one we’ve made (and really liked) was the salmon and penne from Our Best Bites. A lot of these recipes I post are recipes I dream of making, and one day plan to. Our 4 little ones are 6 and under, and don’t have super adventurous taste buds. So I’ve been sticking with the several tried and true recipes that work for our family, for the moment. So, I wish my answer could be that I’ve tried each one, but I haven’t. They’re all recipes that I could picture Zach and I enjoying together, and taking to a friend or family member.

      Are there any of them that you’ve tried and liked? I’d love to hear your thoughts! And if you have any recipes that work well for you when you take to people, I would LOVE to feature them on our blog. Hope you’re having a great week so far!
      Lisa

  2. l June 22, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    That looks like a real winner! thanks for sourcing a great vegetarian option for us!
    Darlene

  3. Lisa Sanders July 21, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    Love Portabellos and Creamed Spinach looks fab, I always make the mini stuffed portabellos during Holidays and one of them is like this, I also do Brie with fresh Garlic, and sausage, parm cheese, garlic and chopped tomatoe ones……mmmmmm good
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

