Meal Idea Monday: California Grilled Veggie Sandwiches

6 Jun

Good Morning, everyone! A new Food Tidings friend of ours from Canada asked me last week if we could add some vegetarian recipes to our meal ideas, and I thought that was a fabulous idea. I can’t believe I haven’t thought to do that sooner. Thank you, Darlene! So for our first vegetarian recipe idea, we have California Grilled Veggie Sandwiches. YUM!

California Grilled Veggie Sandwiches

Source: Allrecipes

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup sliced red bell peppers
  • 1 small zucchini, sliced
  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 1 small yellow squash, sliced
  • 2 (4-x6-inch) focaccia bread pieces, split horizontally
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
 

Directions

1. In a bowl, mix the mayonnaise, minced garlic, and lemon juice. Set aside in the refrigerator.

2. Preheat the grill for high heat.

3. Brush vegetables with olive oil on each side. Brush grate with oil. Place bell peppers and zucchini closest to the middle of the grill, and set onion and squash pieces around them. Cook for about 3 minutes, turn, and cook for another 3 minutes. The peppers may take a bit longer. Remove from grill, and set aside.

4. Spread some of the mayonnaise mixture on the cut sides of the bread, and sprinkle each one with feta cheese. Place on the grill cheese side up, and cover with lid for 2 to 3 minutes. This will warm the bread, and slightly melt the cheese. Watch carefully so the bottoms don’t burn. Remove from grill, and layer with the vegetables. Enjoy as open faced grilled sandwiches.

6 Responses to “Meal Idea Monday: California Grilled Veggie Sandwiches”

  1. Darlene June 8, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Thank you so much for your quick response!! I love the recipe, though I do try to minimize the white flour in my diet. I am looking forward to more veggie recipes.
    Darlene

    • Lisa @ Food Tidings June 8, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

      Hi Darlene, Ok, good to know- I saw many many great vegetarian recipes without white flour that I would love to feature as well. And, if you have any favorites you’d like to share with the Food Tidings community, we’d be honored to post them on our blog! Let me know what you think. Thanks so much!!! Lisa

  2. Jessa June 19, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Oh my this looks so good! I love the combination of squash and feta. They work surprisingly well together.

    • Lisa @ Food Tidings June 19, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      Hi Jessa! It was so awesome to see you Friday night at the AZ Girls Night Out! And thanks for checking out our site and blog!!! Have a fantastic week,
      Lisa

  3. Intentionally Katie July 18, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    I was at a loss for dinner tonight, but you’ve inspired me! I have everything except focaccia…I’ll just use sandwich bread and I might throw on some chicken. I’m officially inspired to make Panini for dinner! Thanks, Lisa!

    • Lisa @ Food Tidings July 23, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      YEA!!!! So glad this could be a help to you. And Katie, I may be featuring you soon again for a meal idea… so be on the lookout!
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

