Meal Idea Monday: Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

25 Apr

How was everyone’s Easter? We had a great day yesterday celebrating that Jesus is alive! We went to church with our family, and then spent the afternoon at my aunt and uncle’s house. We ate LOTS of food. All day long. We played volleyball. We swam (and it was SO cold- my kids were shivering, but refused to come out!) We just spent good quality time together, and it was awesome. I hope you all had a wonderful day yesterday as well.

Oh, and here’s a pic of my family yesterday. Ok, did anyone else have the trouble we did? With a family of 6, it’s SO hard to get everyone to look in the right direction… not to mention, to smile! So this was as good as it was going to get. The kids really wanted to go and play, so sitting still for a picture was not their idea of fun. My little guy in the blue shirt is usually the happiest and life of the party, so just imagine him smiling.

Today’s recipe of creamy chicken enchiladas comes from an awesome new find… Recipe Girl. Ok, I just have to say that this site will be an incredible resource. The creator, Lori, has over 2,500 of her favorite recipes and entertaining menus on her site. She’s a professional recipe developer, food writer, and mom. I can’t wait for you all to check it out!

Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

I’ve included the ingredients needed. For directions, click below to head on over to Recipegirl…

from Recipegirl

Yield: 6 servings

Prep Time: 20 min

Cook Time: 40 min

This recipe is big-time family friendly. It’s quick, easy and delicious.

Ingredients:

1 (10 3/4-ounce) can Healthy Request Cream of Chicken soup
8 ounces light sour cream
1 cup Pace picante sauce
2 teaspoons chili powder
2 cups chopped cooked chicken
2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
10 (6-inch) flour tortillas
1 large tomato, chopped
3 green onions, sliced
1 avocado, mashed & mixed w/ a little sour cream & picante sauce (quick guacamole)

2 Responses to “Meal Idea Monday: Creamy Chicken Enchiladas”

  1. Fire-Brown April 30, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Look at what I have stumbled upon. I received this link in an email from afriend. I don’t remember what the email was about, but I like the link.

    Reading the blog and recipe has “lifted” me day. Thanks for sharing your story about your Easter. I really admire a family like this. I am a SAHM in subourbia-Atlanta. I love having a family of values, morals and blessings too.

    I am going to try this recipe on Monday. I might spice it up with a little “soul”. 😉

    • Lisa @ Food Tidings May 1, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Hi there! Glad you felt lifted up today! Let us know how your chicken enchiladas turn out, and we’d love to hear how it goes when you try out using Food Tidings the next time a friend or family member needs meals brought to them. Have a great day!!!
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

